New House Foreign Affairs Committee packed with GOP freshmen

New House Foreign Affairs Committee packed with GOP freshmen

House Foreign Affairs Committee chairwoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL) released the full roster of GOP committee members today, which includes libertarian Ron Paul (R-TX), budget hawk Mike Pence (R-IN), Joe "You lie" Wilson (R-SC) and 8 members of the 111th Congress’s  freshman class.

"The Foreign Affairs Committee is ready to hit the ground running with this great slate of new and returning members," she said in a statement. "I am extremely thrilled to be equipped with such a talented team to carry out the Committee’s objectives of reining in spending, reforming and eliminating troubled programs, carrying out a strong oversight agenda, and showing support for America’s allies while increasing pressure against our enemies." 

Listed in order of seniority, the GOP committee members are: Christopher Smith (NJ), Dan Burton (IN), Vice Chairman Elton Gallegly (CA), Dana Rohrabacher (CA), Donald Manzullo (IL), Edward Royce (CA), Steve Chabot (OH), Ron Paul (TX), Mike Pence (IN), Joe Wilson (SC), Connie Mack (FL), Jeff Fortenberry, Michael McCaul (TX), Ted Poe (TX), Gus Bilirakis (FL), Jean Schmidt (OH), Bill Johnson (OH), David Rivera (FL), Mike Kelly (PA), Tim Griffin (AR), Tom Marino (PA), Jeff Duncan (SC), Ann Marie Buerkle (NY), and Renee Ellmers (NC).

Last month, Ros-Lehtinen announced the subcommittee chairs: Christopher Smith will lead the Subcommittee on Africa, Global Health, and Human Rights; Donald Manzullo will head the Subcommittee on Asia and the Pacific; Dan Burton is in charge of Subcommittee on Europe and Eurasia; Steve Chabot has the Subcommittee on the Middle East and South Asia; Dana Rohrabacher will preside over the Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations; Edward Royce is atop the Subcommittee on Terrorism, Nonproliferation, and Trade; and Connie Mack will head the Subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere

Ros-Lehtinen has said that cutting the State Department and foreign aid budgets will be at the top of her agenda as chairwoman. Her work will be especially significant at this time, as Congress begins the process of writing new authorization and appropriations bills for the 2011 fiscal year.

"I am proud to lead this team which will protect and advance America’s interests and values, and not apologize for doing so," Ros-Lehtinen said.