Lists

The FP Global Thinkers Twitterati

A who's who of the foreign-policy Twitterverse in 2012.

Oli Scarff/Getty Images
Oli Scarff/Getty Images

From Saudi activist Mohammad Fahad al-Qahtani to controversial author Charles Murray to cutting-edge social media scholar danah boyd (yes, her name is lower-case), this year's Global Thinkers haven taken the Twittersphere by storm. There are still refuseniks-like political scientist Eliot Cohen ("Why make ourselves even more vapid than we already are?")-but more than 60 of this year's FP 100 are tweeters. Follow them here:

1. Moncef Marzouki, for keeping the ideas of the Arab Spring alive: @Moncef_Marzouki

2. Sebastian Thrun, for revving up the robot-car revolution: @SebastianThrun

From Saudi activist Mohammad Fahad al-Qahtani to controversial author Charles Murray to cutting-edge social media scholar danah boyd (yes, her name is lower-case), this year’s Global Thinkers haven taken the Twittersphere by storm. There are still refuseniks-like political scientist Eliot Cohen ("Why make ourselves even more vapid than we already are?")-but more than 60 of this year’s FP 100 are tweeters. Follow them here:

1. Moncef Marzouki, for keeping the ideas of the Arab Spring alive: @Moncef_Marzouki

2. Sebastian Thrun, for revving up the robot-car revolution: @SebastianThrun

3. Bill Gates, for daring to imagine a better everything: @BillGates

4. Melinda Gates, for insisting on women’s power to choose: @melindagates

5. Barack Obama, for redrawing America’s global footprint: @BarackObama

 

6. Paul Ryan, for doubling down on the debt crisis: @PaulRyanVP

7. Benjamin Netanyahu, for forcing the world to confront Iran’s nuclear program: @netanyahu

8. Maria Alyokhina, Yekaterina Samutsevich, Nadezhda Tolokonnikova, for shattering their glass cage with a love letter to freedom: @pussy_riot

9. Rima Dali, for insisting, against all odds, on a peaceful Syrian revolution: @rimadali

10. George Soros, for telling Europe the ugly truth: @georgesoros

11. Ai Weiwei, for turning his confinement into art-and protest: @aiww

12. Christine Lagarde, for investing in the Middle East when others would not: @Lagarde

13. Recep Tayyip Erdogan: @RT_Erdogan

14. Ahmet Davutoglu, for leading from the front: @Ahmet_Davutoglu

15. Willem Buiter, for warning of the Grexit: @whb1002

16. Elon Musk, for putting his money where his mind is: @elonmusk

17. Marissa Mayer, for having it all: @marissamayer

18. Sheryl Sandberg, for having it all: @sherylsandberg

19. Anne-Marie Slaughter, for arguing that women can’t have it all-and explaining why we’d be better off admitting it: @SlaughterAM

20. Salman Rushdie, for defending free speech as if his life, and ours, depended on it: @SalmanRushdie

21. Paul Krugman, for wielding his acid pen against austerity: @NYTimeskrugman

22. Nouriel Roubini, for being not just gloomy, but right: @Nouriel

23. Shai Reshef, for giving the world a shot at the Ivy League: @ShaiReshef

24. Daphne Koller, for working to make education a human right: @DaphneKoller

25. Elizabeth Cheney, for keeping the neocon flame alive: @Liz_Cheney

26. Condoleezza Rice, for updating Rockefeller realism for the Tea Party era: @CondoleezzaRice

27. Eugene Kaspersky, for decoding the secrets of cyberwar: @e_kaspersky

28. Charles Murray, for showing that conservatives have no monopoly on family values: @charlesmurray

29. Alexey Navalny, for finding the Kremlin’s weak spot: @navalny

30. Mohammad Al-Qahtani, for putting Saudi Arabia on trial: @MFQahtani

31. Maryam Al-Khawaja, Zainab Al-Khawaja, and Nabeel Rajab, for insisting that free speech is a right, no matter where you live: @MARYAMALKHAWAJA, @angryarabiya, @NABEELRAJAB

 

32. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, for showing Africa how to break the resource curse: @NOIweala

33. Jameel Jaffer, for insisting that assassination is not an American value: @JameelJaffer

34. Bjorn Lomborg, for taking the black and white out of climate politics: @BjornLomborg

35. Husain Haqqani and Farahnaz Ispahani, for pushing tough love for their troubled country: @husainhaqqani, @fisphani

36. Kiyoshi Kurokawa, for daring to tell a complacent country that groupthink can kill: @kiyoshikurokawa

37. Alexander Macgillivray, for defending free speech in the Twitter era: @amac

38. Yevgenia Chirikova, for outsmarting Vladimir Putin, one tree at a time: @4irikova

39. Rand Paul, for telling America to come home: @SenRandPaul

40. Nitish Kumar, for turning around India’s poorest state: @NitishKumar51

41. Roger Dingledine and Nick Mathewson, for making the web safe for whistleblowers: @RogerDingledine, @nickm_tor

42. Patrice Martin and Jocely Wyatt, for redesigning the war on poverty: @patricemrtn, @jocelynw

43. Robert D. Kaplan, for putting geography back on the map: @RobertDKaplan

44. Kai-Fu Lee, for building the new Chinese Internet: @kaifulee

 

45. Beth Noveck, for demanding open government, then creating it: @bethnoveck

46. Radoslaw Sikorski, for telling the truth, even when it’s not diplomatic: @sikorskiradek

47. Tariq Ramadan, for telling us that Islam and democracy can go together-just when it matters: @tariqramadan

48. Ricken Patel, for proving web activism doesn’t have to begin and end with a click: @Ricken_Patel

49. Vivek Wadhwa, for a fresh idea in the U.S. immigration debate: @wadhwa

50. Danah Boyd, for showing us that Big Data isn’t necessarily better data: @zephoria

51. Jonathan Zittrain, for starting down the Internet’s enemies: @zittrain

52. Luigi Zingales, for remdining us what conservative economics used to look like: @zingales

53. Viviane Reding, for demanding that Europe’s women have a seat at the table: @VivianeRedingEU

54. Jonathan Haidt, for revealing the psychology of partisanship: @JonHaidt

55. Peter Beinart, for diagnosing the "crisis of Zionism": @PeterBeinart

56. Sana Saleem, for insisting that free speech is not blasphemy: @sanasaleem

Sulome Anderson is a journalist based between Beirut and New York City. Follow her on Twitter: @SulomeAnderson.

More from Foreign Policy

The Taliban delegation leaves the hotel after meeting with representatives of Russia, China, the United States, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Qatar in Moscow on March 19.

China and the Taliban Begin Their Romance

Beijing has its eyes set on using Afghanistan as a strategic corridor once U.S. troops are out of the way.

An Afghan security member pours gasoline over a pile of seized drugs and alcoholic drinks

The Taliban Are Breaking Bad

Meth is even more profitable than heroin—and is turbocharging the insurgency.

Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya addresses the U.N. Security Council from her office in Vilnius, Lithuania, on Sept. 4, 2020.

Belarus’s Unlikely New Leader

Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya didn’t set out to challenge a brutal dictatorship.

Taliban spokesperson Zabihullah Mujahid

What the Taliban Takeover Means for India

Kabul’s swift collapse leaves New Delhi with significant security concerns.